Regions of Italy

Italy is divided into 20 regions. Each has its own regional government. Regions are divided into Provinces and Provinces are divided into Municipalities.


18 of these regions are on the mainland part of Italy. One is the island of Sicily and the last is the island of Sardinia. Italy’s main cities and there Regions:

  • Milan – Lombardia
  • Venice – Friuli Venezia Giulia
  • Bologna – Emilia Romagna
  • Florence – Toscana (Tuscany)
  • Rome – Lazio
  • Naples – Campania

Each region has it’s specialty olive oils, food and wine. When going to a region, read up on all it has to offer and try its specialties.

George & Jo Anne


Categories: Campania, Eating Italian, Emilia-Romagna, Europe, Florence, General Travel, Italian Facts, Italy, Milan, Naples, Regions of Italy, Rome, Venice | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: